The California primary election is nearing completion as analysis shows progress.

After months of campaigning, the California Primary Election is finally coming to a close. The final certification of the vote by California Secretary of State Shirley Weber is set for April 12. The process began in February when vote-by-mail ballots were sent to all 21 million registered voters in the state. In the end, 7.7 million ballots were returned, representing a 35% voter turnout.

The primary election in March determined the Democratic and Republican presidential nominations, the open U.S. Senate seat of the late Dianne Feinstein, 80 Assembly and 20 Senate seats, 52 contests for the U.S. House of Representatives, and a single ballot measure, Proposition 1. This measure, which was placed on the ballot by the Legislature at the request of Governor Gavin Newsom and endorsed by the California Chamber of Commerce, passed by a narrow margin of 26,000 votes. The close margin can be attributed to a higher Republican turnout, where the GOP outperformed its registration by 15%.

One race that is still being decided is the Congressional race in the 16th District. This race ended in a tie for second place, highlighting the importance of every vote. In California, the top-two primary finishers advance to the General Election, but what happens when two candidates finish tied for second? According to the California Election Code, all three candidates advance to the General Election. In this case, incumbent Anna Eshoo announced she would not be running for reelection, leading to a field of 11 candidates. After all 181,000 votes were tallied, three Democrats led by former San Jose Mayor Sam Liccardo will make the runoff. Liccardo received the most votes, followed by San Mateo County Supervisor Joe Simitian and Assemblymember Evan Low. A recount has been requested by Liccardo’s allies, which will begin on April 15.

In terms of legislative races, the CalChamber and other business allies had several successful outcomes in the primary. In open seats, Deputy Attorney General Maggy Krell (D) will succeed Kevin McCarty in Assembly District 6, attorney John Harabedian (D) will follow Chris Holden in Assembly District 41, and local chamber executive Jose Solache (D) is set to take over for Ian Calderon in Assembly District 62. 

Share This Article
Leave a comment